This Week’s Pick-Ups – Metal Gear Rising Revengeance and Ignoring Flash Sales

Its been an exciting week for gamers as we are less than one week from E3, the biggest show in gaming!

With all the announcements coming out this week, my attention has actually been focused on other things. Mainly, Flash sales and quick downloads!

So let’s get into this, here are my pick-ups for the week of June 1st to June 7th.

GAMES I PICKED UP –

metal_gear_rising_revengeance-wide

Metal Gear Rising Revengeance –

I stopped by my local EB Games on the way home from work one day this week, thinking to myself that its been a while since I checked on any game sales.

While I didn’t  see much for sales in the way of new games (Final Fantasy X X-2 Remastered still 50 bucks!? Ugh.), I did see that a lot of the big name games released last year were dropped in price significantly, including Metal Gear Rising Revengeance.

Metal Gear Rising for only 13 bucks? I’d call that a win, considering I’m a Metal Gear fan and I still haven’t sat down to play the game.

And so, another game has been added to my backlog…

Dark Souls Artwork

Dark Souls –

Speaking of yesterday’s hit games becoming readily available, let’s move on to Dark Souls. This game just became available through XBox Live’s Games with Gold campaign, one of three games that will be available this month.

How can you say no to a free game? I know I can’t, especially when you’ve got a hard as nails action-RPG ready for download!

Get ready to see this game make its way onto Onward to Adventure, once we actually get rolling with that feature here on GameOnGNT.

SONY DSC

Super Nintendo Controllers –

If you’ve had a chance to check out my Retro Gameplay features of Double Dragon and Bad Dudes, you might have noticed how loud my f**king controllers are for my Retro Duo.  

When you spend more time editing out controller noise than you do actually playing the game, you know you’ve got issues to deal with.

So I did some hunting in my local Facebook groups for some new controllers. Most of the gamers in my community have been focused on the newer systems lately, which doesn’t help a retro gamer shopping for stuff. Until I came across someone trying to sell 11 Super Nintendo Games for 50 dollars.

But who cares about the games… I want me some controllers!

I sent a message to the seller asking if they had any controllers they were willing to sell and a few messages later, I had two new Super Nintendo controllers.

A good 40 dollars well spent!

SALES I AVOIDED –

PlayStation Flash Sale

PlayStation Flash Sale – RPGS

You have no idea how tempting it was for me to drop about 60-70 bucks on this sale. NO IDEA.

Kingdom of Amalur for five bucks? Final Fantasy X X/2 Remastered for 30 bucks?  Both Tales of Xillia and Tales of Graces F, both less than 20 bucks?

They even had the entire Mass Effect Trilogy on sale for 15 bucks… 15 DOLLARS! I spent over 150 bucks on the entire trilogy about three years ago for XBox 360.

I spent a couple of nights staring at this sale on my TV and ultimately turned it down, not buying anything. The reason for this? I have too many games in my backlog of games already and no room to save them onto my PS3. What’s the sense is buying a handful of 60-80 hour RPGs when I probably got about 1000 hours of gaming on my shelf that I need to dig into?

Besides, the price will drop again for Final Fantasy X / X-2 Remastered sooner or later. I can wait.

final_fantasy_x-x2-600x300

Of course, if you want to pick these RPGs up yourself, you’ve still go until the end of the day to take advantage of the sale on PlayStation Network. Go for it!

2 thoughts on “This Week’s Pick-Ups – Metal Gear Rising Revengeance and Ignoring Flash Sales”

  1. I’ve been playing Final Fantasy X HD (Pre-ordered the collection around e3 last year), and OH MY GOD IS IT BEAUTIFUL. I have been tempted so many times to plug in my ps2 just to sit & look at the two versions next to each other. More than worth the money.

    That said, I still have Re:Chain of Memories to go on the Kingdom Hearts 1.5 HD Remix, and 2.5 is coming soon-ish. Seriously, someone needs to invent a device for gamers that just slows time so we can catch up on our backlogs.

    Like

Leave a Reply

