This Week’s Pick-Ups – The XBox Live Ultimate Games Sale

We’re in the blistering heat of July and Microsoft is doing everything they can to keep you from going outside.

The XBox Live Ultimate Game Sale kicked off this week, with some ridiculous sales going on that I’ve found almost impossible to resist.

As much as I’d like to buy just about every game that’s popped up for sale that I don’t already own, I’ve got a wedding in about three weeks and I need to show some restraint!

So here’s a look at the games on this list that I could not say no to!

GAMES I PICKED UP –

MGS 5 Ground Zeroes

Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes

35 dollars at stores for a glorified tech demo!? Screw you, Kojima!

20 dollars through XBox Live for Ground Zeroes!? Up yours, Kiefer Sutherland!

10 dollars for MGSV: Ground Zeroes through the XBox Live Ultimate Games Sale? Welcome home, Kiefer! 

Yes, I caved in for Metal Gear Solid V. Who wouldn’t?  For me, there was no way I was going to pay full retail price for what I considered a glorified tech demo. With only four hours of gameplay through the games regular campaign (including cutscenes), there is no way that I would pay full price for that!

But when a game’s price drops down to about 10 bucks, that’s giving me four hours of entertainment, which is about double what I’d get from your typical movie,  at about half the price of any DVD I’d buy at the store. That to me is a win.

Yes, I’m cheap. But I don’t care. I own MGS V now and you should take advantage of this deal too.

Silent Hill HD Collection

Silent Hill HD Collection

I don’t know what to think about this collection, as I’ve heard mixed thoughts on this one. On one hand, its Silent Hill 2 and Silent Hill 3, some of the best games in the series. On the other hand, a lot of the atmosphere in these games is apparently lost in the transition to HD.

But on the third hand (How did I grow a third hand? Damn you, Silent Hill!), it is two games for 10 bucks, so what am I out if I do buy it?

Answer: 10 bucks. Sold!

Here’s hoping this turns out to be a good game for what I paid for it!

Trials Evolution

Trials Evolution

Trials: Evolution is $5.09 through the XBox Live Ultimate Games Sale.

To be honest, I thought I was going to put this game into the Sales I Avoided section of this article. It took a little convincing by one of GameOn’s supporters Dave Miller to pick this game up.

And I mean little convincing here. Dave basically said it goes from Mario hard to Mega Man hard to Dark Souls hard, then reminded me about the custom made tracks and I was sold. Trials is supposed to be one of the best games ever seen on XBox Live Arcade and here is on sale for just over five bucks. I debated about it because I didn’t know how much a game about motorcycles would grab my attention, but I’ll see first hand if this game was worth it soon enough.

Gotham City Imposters

Gotham City Imposters

And now its time for our regular look at the free game provided through XBox Games with Gold, Gotham City Imposters.

I’ll be honest, there isn’t too much about Gotham City Imposters to grab me. Sure, a lot of my old GameNTrain companions raved about this game when it first came out, but that didn’t grab my attention then either.

The only reason I’m picking this up is because its free. Otherwise, I wouldn’t give Gotham City Imposters a second look. I’m sure its a good game, don’t get me wrong. I just don’t know if its my thing or not.

Dead Space 3

Dead Space 3

And what would a look at free games be without talking about the new additions through PS Plus. Granted, I technically don’t own this game through the PS Plus system, but I still get to play it for my monthly subscription fee, so that works for me!

Dead Space is a series I’ve been looking at jumping into for some time. It seems to have the scares we saw through Resident Evil’s hay day down to a science and they’ve thrown in a healthy doze of space and sci-fi imagery to make things interesting. Getting to play Dead Space 3 for free gives me a great opportunity to see if this series is worth backtracking for.

SALES I AVOIDED –

Ultimate Game Sale

EVERYTHING ELSE IN THE ULTIMATE GAMES SALE

This was a really hard sale to not just try and pick up everything. There are so many games on sale this week that I have not picked up yet, but have been really tempted to do so here.

Just look at the pricing… Deus Ex: Human Revolution is $4.94,  Witcher 2: Assassin of Kings is $9.89 and Dishonored is selling for $6.59! These are crazy low prices for some all-star titles.

A lot of the other titles just didn’t do it for me, even though I don’t own them already. Halo 4 going for 15 bucks is tempting, but its Halo and the Master Chief Collection is coming. WWE 2K14 selling for 20 bucks is decent, but then you realize its a wrestling game and it will probably end up in the junk bin for five bucks before too long anyway. Gears of War 3 is selling for just under 5 bucks, but at the same time, I’m not that big of a fan of Gears of War, so why bother picking up a cheap game I may or may not play?

GAMES IN MY BACKLOG THAT GOT SOME ATTENTION

PlayStation All Stars

PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale

I’ll admit that I wasn’t the biggest fan of All-Stars Battle Royale. I felt it just couldn’t live up to what the Super Smash Bros series has accomplished.

But when you’ve got a group of friends over, it makes for a great party game and one of my team members Blaze has been saying that we should play this game for a while as one of our GameOn Party Nights.

So in other words, expect to see PlayStation All-Stars Battle Royale on the YouTube channel sooner or later!

Marvel Ultimate Alliance 2

Marvel Ultimate Alliance 2

Another game that made the rounds with the GameOn team this past week is Marvel Ultimate Alliance 2. I’ve played this game before on the XBox 360, playing a single-player campaign, but I’ve never given multi-player a go before.

That was remedied this past week, as GameOn’s Blaze, Roger and Shayla joined me for some game time with this one. Chaos is the only way to describe what happened.

There’s something about seeing a group of superheroes wondering around carrying missiles, trees, benches and what have you that just makes a person laugh. We didn’t get far, but man, did we have fun with the time that we had!

One thought on “This Week’s Pick-Ups – The XBox Live Ultimate Games Sale”

Leave a Reply

