This Week’s Pick-Ups – Back on the Horse!

Alright guys, I’m back!

Normally, I put this article out every week, but I’ve been off for the last few weeks. Weddings, marriage, how bout that?

But on top of the usual wedding gifts of blenders, toasters and wine, I had one super cool friend (cough ROGER cough) buck convention and give me a PSN Gift card of $50.

Right in time for a Square-Enix sale.

Let the mad buying begin!!

GAMES I PICKED UP

To start off, let’s talk about the games I’ve picked up from the Square-Enix sale. Keep in mind, I might not be done buying yet, so you may hear more about this sale next week.

Front Mission 3 

frontmission3

Out of all the games I’ve bought this week, this one raises the most questions.

I already own Front Mission 3 for the PlayStation One. Why would I re-buy it as part of the Square Enix sale?

1. This game kicks ass and the disc I have of it is definitely well-used.

2. This game was on sale for $2.50. Well worth its cost.

3. This game can be downloaded onto my PSP, giving me a portable strategy RPG that kicks serious ass.

Next question, please!

Final Fantasy IV Complete Collection

Final Fantasy IV Complete Collection

Another game that I have two copies of already (one for SNES, the other for PlayStation One), yet I decided to buy it through this sale. Why?

The After Years. That’s the only reason to do this. I have never owned the After Years and now can own the entirety of Final Fantasy IV for five bucks. That does it for me.

Now let’s move on to the XBox 360, where the Capcom Publisher Sale is currently going on.

Resident Evil 4 HD

Resident Evil 4

Now my deep dark gaming secret. I have never owned Resident Evil 4.

The greatest of all the Resident Evil games, I have never played.

And now for 7 bucks, I’m going to get my chance… eventually.

Darkstalkers Resurrection

Darkstalkers-Resurrection-title

I liked Darkstalkers in the arcade. I played it on occasion when I found it in arcades, back when arcades were more prevalent to human society.

Did I like it? Absolutely. Would I ever pay full price for it? Oh holy god no.

Would I pay five bucks for it? Shit yeah I would!

Super Street Fighter 2 Turbo HD

SSF2THDR

Could they make this title any longer? Probably, but that’s beside the point.

The only reason I bought this game was because of the Akuma final boss. The absurd level of challenge of making that boss fight happen is what’s driving me to play this game.

Can I make it happen? We’ll see what happens at some point!

Resident Evil 2

Resident Evil 2

No, this game is not part of the Capcom sale.

But after seeing all of the sales for Resident Evil games I don’t care for (namely 5 and 6), I had to go back and buy what I consider one of the best Resident Evil games ever.

Resident Evil 2 is the source of some of my favorite gaming memories for the PlayStation One. Its awesome.

I’ve played through everything this game has to offer, but I’ve never actually owned it, so I needed to rectify that.

Family Feud

Family Feud

Remember that $50 PSN gift card I mentioned earlier?

Since it was a wedding gift, obviously the games that are purchased through that card need to be decided on by both me and my wife, Shayla.

This was the first game that we were able to agree on that we would both enjoy, only because the Family Feud game show is pretty awesome.

What other games will we pick up? You’ll have to wait and see. We’ve got time!

Crysis 3

Crysis 3

What would be one of my Weekly Pick-Up articles without talking about PS Plus and XBox Games with Gold?

We’ll start with PS Plus and its selections for the month. Crysis 3 is a clear winner of a game available for free this month. I’ve never really wanted to spend full price to own this game, but for a free rental? Of course, I’ll give it a go!

Motocross Madness

Motocross Madness

Well Games with Gold, this title is just a TAD underwhelming.

But its free and I get to keep it if I get rid of my XBox Live Games with Gold, so why the hell not?

SALES I AVOIDED

None of them!

I’ve already talked about the two big sales this week. Both of which definitely caught my interest.

The only thing I can really say about these sales is that I’m still debating on a few titles. So I’m going to leave a list of game titles and see what you think. What game do you think I should still pick up?

final_fantasy_x-x2-600x300

Final Fantasy X/X-2 HD Remastered
Final Fantasy III
Dungeons and Dragons: Chronicles of Mystara
DmC Devil May Cry
Remember Me

All of these games have caught my attention. What do you think? Which game would you buy?

GAMES IN MY BACKLOG THAT GOT SOME ATTENTION

Jeopardy

Jeopardy xbla

So… not gonna lie… I have a  little bit of a Jeopardy addiction.

I like the show and always felt I could school most people who go on the show aside from the absolute geniuses. So I decided to give the Jeopardy game on XBLA a go.

After getting completely schooled in an online match-up for this game. I realized I was probably overstating my Jeopardy skills.

Battleblock Theatre

battleblock theater 04

Ah, one of last month’s XBox Games with Gold selections. I guess I should play these if I am getting them for free, right?

So I sat down and played Battleblock Theatre, which is surprisingly addicting for a game that is all about jumping and fighting cats.

I got to play this game about a week ago. Its a little crazy and was worth picking up when it was free. Would I have bought the game if I had to pay for it? Probably not.

But its still pretty fun. Plus I get a fun Castle Crashers head for my character since I already owned Castle Crashers, so that’s a plus.

Vandal Hearts: Flames of Judgment

VANDAL_HEARTS_FLAMES_OF_JUDGMENT

You know, I hate seeing a fun game series go downhill.

I owned both Vandal Hearts and Vandal Hearts 2 for the PlayStation One. I loved Vandal Hearts because of its great gameplay and giant spurts of blood when a character died. It was great for teenage Jeff. I also liked Vandal Hearts 2 for its unique movement system, forcing enemies to move while your character moved. It was annoying as hell, but it was unique and never seen anywhere else.

Then came this stupid game… and it ruined any chance of getting a quality Vandal Hearts game in the future.

How did this game become so bad, considering its source material? Character voices are terrible, character art is bad, random encounters are an exercise in frustration, music is sub-par and the game moves along so clunkily, it hurts..

If you are going to bring back a fun series, bring it back RIGHT.

Metal Gear Solid V: Ground Zeroes

MGS 5 Ground Zeroes

Being a fan of Metal Gear Solid, I figured I would have played this game more than I have when I got it. Seriously, I have owned this game for three weeks and have only played it for about an hour.

Seriously, the game looks amazing and plays really well. Why hasn’t it grabbed me?

Oh yeah… wedding planning…

I’m glad to have more free time now!

 

Leave a Reply

