GameOn First Impressions – Hyperdimension Neptunia Re;Birth 2

Today, I take a look at Hyperdimension Neptunia Re;Birth 2, coming to us from Idea Factory this time around! Neptunia Re;Birth 2 is available physically and digitally across North America now.

We’re bringing back our GameOn First Impressions series, and believe me, you will be getting a lot of first impression videos, now that we’ve got a PlayStation TV.

The latest game on the list is the newest in the Hyperdimension Neptunia series, which I could see myself getting into.

Last year, I was introduced to Fairy Fencer F, a game with a weird name, but an awesome battle system. I played that game for easily three weeks because I couldn’t put it down. Whenever I had free time, I was giving the game another go.

Hyperdimension Neptunia is where that battle system came from and the latest installment in the series refines it even further.

I’ll admit it, I am a little lost with the storyline, as I am joining the series mid-franchise. But at the same time, the game is presented in a way that you can actually join in at Re;Birth 2. Its not an impossibility, as they explain a lot in the opening story sequences.

If there’s any complaint I can make, its that the game starts off almost TOO WORDY. Knowing what kind of battle system I was expecting, I just wanted to jump in and start fighting.

This complaint though is more from the perspective of someone trying to broadcast the game. Trust me, I do recognize the importance of recapping some of the series history and teaching people how to play the game. That’s something that happens in every long-running RPG series.

Some characters in the game have quirks that I’m not the biggest fan of. I would almost say this game tends to be TOO ANIME-ISH for my tastes, but that’s a personal preference, not an actual critique of the game itself.

Bottom Line – If you are deep into anime culture or have experienced Hyperdimension Neptunia before, this game is a no-brainer to pick up. It refines every system you find in the series even further and just plays smoothly. If you aren’t the biggest anime fan, but like JRPGs or RPGs in general, try borrowing this game from a friend or give a demo a go if you can find it. The battle system is something to definitely experience.

If you can’t see yourself getting into it or the character’s seem too weird for you, you might try Fairy Fencer F instead. Its kind of like a Hyperdimension Neptunia LITE and more approachable for a traditional American audience.

GameOn First Impressions is our chance to give you a look at what to expect from some of the newest games to come out. Sometimes a game is simply too long to give a full review under our time constraints. We’re looking at the first hour of this game and talking about what stands out and what falls flat.

If you like what you see, check it out for yourself and download Hyperdimension Neptunia Re;Birth 2 on your PlayStation Vita from PSN!

Leave a Reply

