Thoughts on the Calgary Expo Guest List (so far)

I’m happy to see the list of new Calgary Expo guests that came out Tuesday! Here’s my top picks so far…

Nathan Fillion – Firefly, Castle, Dr Horrible
Kevin Sorbo – Hercules: The Legendary Journeys
Will Friedle – Batman Beyond, Boy Meets World
James Marsters – Spike (Buffy the Vampire Slayer)
Colm Meaney – O’Brien (Star Trek TNG and DS9
Linda Larkin – The Voice of Princess Jasmine from Aladdin
Mara Wilson – Matilda, Mrs Doubtfire
Keith Tucker – One of the guys behind Animaniacs

While I like the guest list we have at the moment, I am surprised about a couple of things not found there.

342a8e17a32a97764bc94776295d5f6a

– No cosplay guest announcements yet… Not a showbreaker, but they usually have about three or four cosplay guests every year. In the past, they’ve had Jessica Nigri, Ivy Doomkitty and Lindsay Elyse. Where are the celebrity cosplayers on the guest list? I can think of some great additions we haven’t seen at the show (Lady Kayleen, Abby Dark-Star, Kamui Cosplay, Kelly Jean, Rosanna Rocha Cosplayer, Knightmage, Living Ichigo all come to mind.)

000101f39abigshowimg

– No wrestling guests! Last year, there wasn’t a wrestler at the show, which was surprising because there was always wrestlers in attendance in past years. Some of the big names we’ve had include Mick Foley, Edge, Trish Stratus and Bret Hart. Definitely a missed opportunity here if they don’t get somebody. Maybe bring in Kane or the Big Show? Ric Flair, The Nature Boy? Really, what have they been doing in WWE lately?

76f53d1aafb419b5d1ae029de7ddc545

– Few voice actors… Will Friedle and Linda Larkin are great additions and I can’t wait to meet them, but I’m surprised there are none involved in anime. I’d also like to see them increase the number of voice actors involved in video games. I’d love to see people like D.C. Douglas (voice of Albert Wesker in Resident Evil), David Hayter (Voice of Solid Snake in Metal Gear Solid), Bryce Papenbrook (so much anime) and Vic Mignogna (Full Metal Alchemist, Broly of Dragon Ball Z fame)

 

– No representatives from the following shows… Star Wars, The 100, Supernatural, Mighty Morphin Power Rangers, Prison Break, Gotham, Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter. All shows that we’ve had guests from in the past and I would love to see involved again. I realize you can’t have the same shows involved every year, but they are big fan draws! I also haven’t seen a guest from the 100 at Calgary Expo before and as a fan of the show, I want that to happen!

I want you to keep in mind, this isn’t a complaint. I love Calgary Comic and Entertainment Expo and will always enjoy visiting the show. For me, I’ve always loved seeing the show as a whole, visiting vendors, seeing the amazingly talented cosplayers wandering the halls and just having fun travelling to the Expo with my group. These are just my thoughts on some quality guests that would round out the experience.

What about you? What guests would you love to see make an appearance at Calgary Comic and Entertainment Expo this year?

Let us know!

Leave a Reply

